Sign-Up Today to Join Our Email List

2019 Executive Committee

PRESIDENT
Lisa Lugauskas
Fidelity National Title Insurance Company
111 Founders Plaza, Suite 1403
East Hartford, CT 06108
(203)653-3112
lisa.lugauskas@fnf.com

PRESIDENT ELECT /
CREW NETWORK DELEGATE

Melissa L. Ferrucci, CPA
CohnReznick LLP
350 Church Street, 12th Floor
Hartford, CT 06103
(959) 200-7091
melissa.ferrucci@cohnreznick.com

TREASURER
Edward Engberg, CPA
Whittlesey PC
184 Crestwood Drive
Guilford, CT 06437
(860)524-4445
eengberg@whcpa.com

SECRETARY
Andrea L. Gomes, Esq.
Shipman & Goodwin LLP
One Constitution Plaza
Hartford, CT 06103
(860)251-5664
agomes@goodwin.com

PAST PRESIDENT / SPONSORSHIP CHAIR
Colleen Sheridan
RM Bradley
One Financial Plaza
Hartford, CT 06103
(860)241-2718
csheridan@rmbradley.com

CREW NETWORK DELEGATE
Janet L Wheeler, LEED AP
University of Hartford - Facilities
200 Bloomfield Ave
West Hartford, CT 06117
(860)768-7927
jwheeler@hartford.edu

2019 Committee Chairs

BLUE RIBBON AWARDS
Jennifer Marks, LS
BL Companies, Inc.
355 Research Pkwy
Meriden, CT 06450
(203)630-1406
jmarks@blcompanies.com

Kathleen Monica Mylod, JD
Shipman & Goodwin LLP
One Constitution Plaza
Hartford, CT 06103
(860)251-5332
kmylod@goodwin.com

Melissa M. Roy
Tecton Architects, Inc.
One Hartford Square West
Hartford, CT 06106
(475)441-0094
MelissaR@tectonpc.com

COMMUNICATIONS
Monika Avery, LEED, IIDA
The S/L/A/M Collaborative, Inc.
80 Glastonbury Blvd
Glastonbury, CT 06033-4410
(860)657-8077
Avery@slamcoll.com

Megan Cleary
Tecton Architects, Inc.
One Hartford Square West
Hartford, CT 06106
(203)772-9089
meganc@tectonpc.com

CREW CAREERS
Hilary Stoudt
CBRE | New England
185 Asylum Street
Hartford, CT 06103
(860)368-2376
hilary.stoudt@cbre-ne.com

Elizabeth A. Strole
Rome Clifford Katz & Koerner, LLP
214 Main Street
Hartford, CT 06106
(860)597-3272
estrole@hotmail.com

MEMBERSHIP
Nikki Witaszek
Phase Zero Design, Inc.
8 Wilcox Street
Simsbury, CT 06070
(860)264-1624
nwitaszek@phasezerodesign.com

Jenna Marie Zaikarite, CPA
Whittlesey PC
280 Trumbull Street, 24th Floor
Hartford, CT 06103
(860)524-4432
jzaikarite@wadvising.com

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT
Laura Bellotti Cardillo, Esq.
Pullman & Comley, LLC
90 Statehouse Sq, 13th Fl
Hartford, CT 06103-3702
(860)424-4309
lcardillo@pullcom.com

Betty Horne, LEED AP
Red Thread
300 East River Drive
East Hartford, CT 06108
(860)528-9981
bhorne@red-thread.com

PROGRAMS
Patrick Hulton, J.D.
The Associated Construction Company
55 Airport Road, Suite 206
Hartford, CT 06114
(860)296-4114
pth@accgc.com

Rita A Joy
Interscape Commercial Environments
10 Waterside Dr, Ste 201
Farmington, CT 06032
(860)882-5903 x308
rita@interscape.com

Downtown Hartford’s Continuing Development:

Plans in and Around The Bushnell

Panelists from left to right: David Fay, The Bushnell, Sara Bronin, City of Hartford Planning & Zoning Commission, Kiley Gosselin City of Hartford Dept. of Development Services, and Michael Freimuth, CRDA

CREW CT welcomed a large business crowd on October 4th for a Fall program featuring a panel discussion about planned development around The Bushnell Center for the Performing Arts. Our knowledgeable panelists included David Fay, President and CEO at The Bushnell, Michael Freimuth, Executive Director, Capital Region Development Authority (CRDA), Kiley Gosselin, City of Hartford Deputy Director, Department of Development Services and moderator, Sara Bronin, Chair, Planning & Zoning Commission for the City of Hartford.

Now referred to as “Bushnell South,” the area has long been discussed as a way to extend downtown south beyond Bushnell Park, an opportunity to build upon the many surface parking lots in the area, and to create a neighborhood of residences and commercial spaces. The significant renovation of the state office building at 165 Capitol Avenue, to be completed in late 2019, and construction of a new parking structure at Washington and Buckingham are important first steps in the development area.

In preliminary comments, Kiley said that the City’s new Zoning Regulations had been transformative, since their adoption in 2017, particularly elimination of parking requirements for new developments. Mike indicated that CRDA is serving as lead planning agency for development in the area, that demolition of the former State of CT medical laboratory building was nearly complete, and that funding was now in place for construction of a new parking garage for up to 500 cars. David indicated that the iQuilt Plan, now ten years old, has made a great deal of progress in connecting downtown Hartford’s cultural amenities and in improving walkability. The Bushnell is seeking ways to activate the areas around their building and is developing a new digital media institute.

Mike provided information on some of the preliminary thinking about the area. CRDA believes that there is a market for larger units and home ownership options as an alternative to the many current rentals that have come on line in downtown. And, both Mike and Sara indicated that breaking down the larger sites into smaller parcels would allow different size developers to respond. It is hoped that developers will be sought in 2019 for their development concepts. Preliminary thinking is also underway for the area around Park and Main, which is a gateway to downtown, only 2.5 block away.

CREW Network Commercial Real Estate Women Connecticut